Marc Taillefer

Taillefer Research Group

The team (Molecular Synthesis Methodology) is composed by around 12 members with 4 permanent researchers:

  • Marc Taillefer (DR CNRS / Head of the team): see below
  • Florian Monnier (Pr ENSCM): see hyperlink
  • Florian Jaroschick (CR CNRS): see hyperlink
  • Alexis Prieto (CR CNRS): see hyperlink

Marc Taillefer biography

Marc Taillefer studied chemistry and earned his Ph.D. from the University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France, under the supervision of Dr Jean-Jacques Brunet in 1989. He was then a postdoc at the Technische Universität München, Germany, with Pr Wolfgang A. Herrmann. He became a CNRS researcher at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Montpellier (ENSCM) in 1992 and CNRS Research Director in 2004.

His research focuses on the discovery of breakthrough methodologies in the field of organic synthesis and homogeneous catalysis (C–C and C-Heteroatom bond formation via copper-, iron- and manganese- catalyzed arylation of nucleophiles, transition metal free mediated coupling reaction, and functionalization of unsaturated compounds), as well as phosphorus chemistry (synthesis, reactivity, and applications of ylides).

Among many other commitments, Marc Taillefer was President of the French Chemical Society’s Organic Chemistry Division from 2012 to 2015 and, from 2018 to 2021, he was the President of the French Chemical Society (SCF).

For his pioneering work on copper catalyzed arylation couplings and their worldwide academic and industrial impact, Marc Taillefer was awarded the prestigious “Grand Prix Emile Jungfleisch” of the French Academy of Sciences in 2017, and “European Sustainable Chemistry Award” of the EuChemS in 2012, among other awards and honors.

I. About the scientist
II. Research Activities
III. Scientific Production